Teams

A team defines how an organization grants permissions for sensitive management and administrative operations to accounts, including user accounts and service accounts.

A team's accounts have a shared responsibility for certain services. Chronosphere represents those services as collections, which contain resources related to the service a collection represents, such as dashboards and monitors. A team can own multiple collections.

All user and service accounts in a team that has the special System Administrator (SysAdmin) role are administrators. If you're an administrator, you can add this role to a team.

View teams

To search for a team:

  1. Click the search bar to focus on it, or use the keyboard shortcut Control+K (Command+K on macOS).
  2. Begin typing any part of the team's name.
  3. Optional: Click the filters for all other listed resource types at the top of the search results to remove them and display only team.
  4. Click the desired search result, or use the arrow keys to select it and press enter, to go to that team.

View teams and their collections

To view teams and the collections they own, go to Teams & Collections. For details on working with collections, see Collections.

View a list of teams to manage

To view teams in a list that displays their members, provides an audit log of membership changes, and includes management options for administrators, in the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams, or use Chronoctl. For details, see Accounts and Teams.

Manage teams

To manage teams, you must use a user account or service account that belongs to a team with the SysAdmin role.

To manage teams, in the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.

Create a team

To create a new team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.
  2. Click Action.
  3. From the menu that appears, click Create new team.
  4. In the dialog that appears, enter a name for the new team.
  5. Click Save to create the team.

The team now appears in the list of users and teams.

Edit team membership

To add users to or remove users from a team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.
  2. Select the team to manage.
  3. Click Manage in the Membership panel.
  4. From the account list that appears, select the checkbox for each account you want to add to the team, and clear the checkbox for each account you want to remove from the team.
  5. Click Save to edit the team's membership.

The team page updates its Membership list accordingly, and the Audit Log adds an entry logging the operation.

Add a role to a team

This feature isn't available to all Chronosphere users and might not be visible in your app. For information about enabling this feature in your environment, contact your salesperson or technical account manager.

Chronosphere teams use roles to grant or restrict access. The available roles are:

  • Sysadmin: Any account that's a member of a team with the System Administrator (SysAdmin) role can create user and service accounts, assign them to teams, and define team permissions. Teams and users with this role have a padlock icon () next to their name in the Users & Teams list.
  • User Administrator: Users belonging to teams with this permission can update user accounts.
  • Editor: Users on teams with the Editor role can create entities within Chronosphere, but can't update user accounts.
  • Viewer: Users on teams with the Viewer role can view entities, but can't create, change, or delete users or entities.

If a user belongs to multiple teams with different permissions, they inherit the highest level permissions of each assigned team. Users without a team assignment have Viewer privileges. For example, a user on a team with Editor and a second team with User Administrator permissions has both sets of privileges.

If a user belongs to no teams, they inherit viewer permissions.

The following chart summarizes roles and permissions:

ActionUser AdminViewerEditorSystem Admin
Can interact with SCIM API
Can view pages in Chronosphere
Can add/edit users
Can add/edit/remove teams
Can add/edit/remove collections
Can add/edit/remove notification policies
Can add/edit/remove dashboards

Chronosphere assigns users to the default team during provisioning, which grants them the Editor role. To change their privileges, you must edit the team to remove the user from the Editors team, and assign them to a team with Viewer permissions.

Users on teams with the User Administrator role can make changes to the Okta integration.

To add a role to a team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Managing > Users and Teams.
  2. Select the team to manage.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. In the Role section, click the toggle next to the role to add.
  5. Click Save.

Remove a role from a team

To remove a role from a team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.
  2. Select the team to manage.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. In the Role section, click the toggle to the off position for the role to remove.
  5. Click Save.

Rename a team

To rename a team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.
  2. Select the team to manage.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Change the name in the Name field.
  5. Click Save.

Delete a team

To delete a team:

  1. In the navigation menu select Settings > Users and Teams.
  2. Select the team to manage.
  3. Click the Delete icon ().
  4. In the confirmation dialog that appears, click Confirm (Delete).